See Jane Drink.

/] ;ff Poster Contest

All of the artwork on this campaign
brochure and poster was designed by
young people who care passionately
about putting a stop to driving under
the influence.

s The California Friday Night Live
Partnership helped facilitate the
design contest, reaching out to the
56 county Friday Night Live programs.
Hundreds of designs were submitted
from across California and the best

of those are presented here. You can
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Jane B. Adummy
1950-1967

see from the images and messages
that today's youth are ready to lead

the way to make sure drinking and
driving is a combination that will
no longer be accepted.

Winner, 2nd Place: Amanda Galloway, Student at , @’éiﬁﬁf?’,ﬁ

Westwood High School, Westwood CA
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- The best values are just
% around the corner...

Funding for this program was provided by a grant from the California
Office of Traffic Safety, through the Business, Transportation and
Housing Agency.
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Grand Prize Winner: Brittany Barlow, Student at Jr/Sr
High Sehool, Kern County, CA



That’s the minimum cost.
If you cause a crash ...

Add the cost of your own pain and/or disability

L]
from major injuries, lost job, vehicle repairs or
replacement.

* The cost per injured survivor of an alcohol-related

crash averages $115,000.

Here iS What a ﬁrst time DUI ¢ The average a.lclohol-related fatality in California
will cost you: costs $3.8 million.

* Your emotional cost of injuring or killing a passenger.
¢ 1 year without a driver’s license (under 21)

¢ 4 months without a license (21 and older)
* $12,000 in fees and fines*
* 48 hours in jail The message is simple:

—— DON’'T DRINK & DRIVE.
¢ Completing DUI classes and/or community service REPORT THOSE WHO DO_

* 3 years probation

* 7 years with 2 points on driving record

e Up to $1,500 annual auto insurance increase

¢ 15 weeks DUl classes

e 2 DUl impact sessions

¢ |ots of time at the DMV

“Fees and fines include:

* Vehicle towing and storage

e Booking, fingerprinting and photo fee
= Driver’s license reinstatement fee

¢ DUI fine

* Assessment for the court system

e Community Service Fee

e DUI victims fund

e Alcohol abuse education fund

e DUI classes

¢ DUI Victims' Impact session

* Attorney fees Winner, 3rd Place: Laura Thao, High School Student in
Crescent City, CA

“If you don’t call 911 on a
drunk driver, someone may
have to call 911 for you!”

— Tristan Trotter, Student at Camptonville

You can be part of the solution.

Drinking and driving are a deadly combination. That's
why Caltrans, OTS and CHP want your help by reporting
drivers under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

If you see a driver who you know or suspect is under
the influence, please eall 911. You could be saving the
life of the driver, passengers and others who could be
involved in a deadly crash.

Be prepared to tell the CHP as much as you can about
the vehicle, including:

* The highway or road it is on

* A milepost marker or other location identifier

¢ The vehicle’s make and color

* The vehicle's license plate number

¢ The direction it is heading

* Your name and telephone number

With your help, we can reduce the number of
people who are injured or killed each week on
California’s roadways.

Winner, Honorable Mention: Geoff Anderson,
Student at Alma Heights Christian Academy, Pacifica, CA
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